UK theme parks from another point of view!

 
Dave

Run Away Mine Train

Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:13 pm

i dont know if this is the best place to post this, but it seems apropriate

has anyone else been on the mine train and been stuck at at very awkward angle at the end while the train stops b4 entering the station?

i was there yesterday, and the train stoped there and i swear it felt like me and my friend were gonna fall out. plus i was crushing the poor girl as she was sat on the inside, so i was sliding towards here.

i can never rememebr this being like that in the past, or do i just have a bit of a bad memory? 8-[

also, does anyone else find the sets on that fide incredable uncomfortable? i cane off that train and it fely like my spine had been snapped in half
 
User avatar
Josh
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 209
Joined: March 2004
Location: Staffordshire
Contact:

Thu Jul 15, 2004 4:36 pm

i noticed it ages ago so its allways been like that it only happens if your right at the back of the train usually. So thats where i prefer to sit if the fronts taken.
Image
 
Crofty

Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:50 pm

Yep - I noticed it last visit, I just thought t may have been an op just slowing the train down to early - a bit off topic but does the op actually slow and stop RMT? or is it automatic? :D
 
Anonymous

Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:11 pm

Automatic, its all controlled via photo cells, BUS rail and proximity switches. Sorry if some of you aint goa a clue what Im on about.
 
User avatar
towersuncovered
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 16
Joined: April 2004
Location: England

Mon Jul 19, 2004 1:18 pm

No, The RMT is manual thats why sometimes the train stops in the wrong posistion the ride op controld nearly evry aspect of the ride. I know this because i asked the op before.
 
Anonymous

Mon Jul 19, 2004 1:34 pm

"Bigdave_15_1985" wrote:
Automatic, its all controlled via photo cells, BUS rail and proximity switches. Sorry if some of you aint goa a clue what Im on about.


I know im probably wrong bigdave but is that like the modern tram systems around the country that use road and old railway lines? They flick a lever and go from road running to rail running?
 
Anonymous

Mon Jul 19, 2004 9:29 pm

We call the bus rail the safety circit which normally just controls the harnesses but can monitor other aspects of the ride. The ride is not manual at all other wise it would be unsafe. I know for a fact that each section of the ride as a preset speed and is all computer controlled thats why I dont think it as ever over shot the station. Only two rollercoaster on the park as I know of that are manually operated are the Corkscrew and the Beastie.
 
Rekki
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2004
Location: Stoke

Mon Jul 19, 2004 9:52 pm

i operate the beastie :) the break is a bitch on it, espcially in the rain.
 
User avatar
smeg_head
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 700
Joined: April 2004
Location: Quahog
Contact:

Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:34 pm

Yeah I stopped on that angled track last visit. The train seemed a touch faster do you know if they may have changed the settings on the old girl Big Dave? Or is it my imagination?
Image
Image
 
Anonymous

Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:40 pm

Settings can be changed but normally for testing and for staff family fun night and ohh my word is it fast!
 
User avatar
Jay12
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 500
Joined: April 2004
Location: Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:22 pm

I stopped at that angle and my dad was sat next to me and he is quite fat.
so i was very very squieshed but its still a great ride.
Image
Sig made by Craig - Gashead.
 
Anonymous

Fri Jul 23, 2004 10:05 am

Sometimes it can overshot the station though, this happens a lot on Flying Fish at Thorpe Park where the speed of it coming in is often adjuested. It will either enter to fast and stp with the front out the station so it has to be sent again or slowed down to soon so the second half of the ride is ruined.
 
User avatar
Elecx
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 24
Joined: July 2004

Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:53 pm

I can remember banging my head back on it once, but apart from that it's been fine
- Craig Smith
 
User avatar
Doopy Dan
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 888
Joined: May 2003

Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:49 am

The Mine train can be put on Auto or Manual dispatch as as Big Dave said, but manual control isnt for the whole ride, it kicks in just coming over the ravine, after the tunnel, and kicks back out, just out of the station, (thats why you sometimes get 3 goes when its not busy)
 
madmanwill
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 83
Joined: July 2004
Location: Bristol

Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:24 pm

when i went on RMT last the harness wouldnt come up so the ride op sent us round three time untill it worked (six laps in total) :D great fun

will
 
User avatar
Emmaly
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 45
Joined: July 2004

Fri Jul 30, 2004 5:05 pm

"kylies_kitty""][quote=""Bigdave_15_1985" wrote:
Automatic, its all controlled via photo cells, BUS rail and proximity switches. Sorry if some of you aint goa a clue what Im on about.


I know im probably wrong bigdave but is that like the modern tram systems around the country that use road and old railway lines? They flick a lever and go from road running to rail running?[/quote]
No, trams are manual. When they go onto exterior rails, driver's increase the speed. That's in Nottingham anyway.
 
User avatar
scargill
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 29
Joined: July 2004

Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:02 am

On Manchester trams theres a sign saying "switch to road mode" and "switch to rail mode" up a hill, and the tram controls are virtually identical in Nottingham, so I'd imagine there will be two modes (although the driver will manually increase the speed too)
 
User avatar
Emmaly
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 45
Joined: July 2004

Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:55 pm

"scargill" wrote:
On Manchester trams theres a sign saying "switch to road mode" and "switch to rail mode" up a hill, and the tram controls are virtually identical in Nottingham, so I'd imagine there will be two modes (although the driver will manually increase the speed too)

Well I don't know what to say but I have been in the Drivers seat of an NET tram and it's much more manual than that.
 
User avatar
phillipvass
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 225
Joined: July 2004
Location: At home

Mon Aug 23, 2004 3:14 pm

I think the ride isn't bad but it could maybe be a bit longer rather than go round twice. It could also go a bit lower to the ground to give the feeling that it is out of control. My real dream is to have about 25 loops in it and for it to come of the track at the end into a huge shark infested pool where all the guests can laugh and point at you as you scream for help and crawl out of the chaos. :mrgreen:
 
madmanwill
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 83
Joined: July 2004
Location: Bristol

Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:35 pm

"phillipvass" wrote:
I think the ride isn't bad but it could maybe be a bit longer rather than go round twice. It could also go a bit lower to the ground to give the feeling that it is out of control. My real dream is to have about 25 loops in it and for it to come of the track at the end into a huge shark infested pool where all the guests can laugh and point at you as you scream for help and crawl out of the chaos. :mrgreen:


someones got a hyperactive imagination :wink:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 269 guests