UK theme parks from another point of view!

 
User avatar
clayj
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 224
Joined: October 2012
Location: Belfast but Newcastle originally

Panthers escape from Drayton Manor !!

Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:09 am

Image

ɹǝןıɯs ǝɥʇ
 
danr
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 5
Joined: March 2011

Re: Panthers escape from Drayton Manor !!

Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:34 pm

Is this actully real or is it an April Fools Joke ?  ;)
 
User avatar
Rob
Team Admin
Team Admin
Posts: 2398
Joined: November 2005
Location: Glasgow

Re: Panthers escape from Drayton Manor !!

Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:12 pm

Think it's an April fool. This kind of gives it away.

Andrew Webber, owner of the Tamworth’s Bengali Olaf Priol restaurant said that he woke to discover claw-like marks across the paintwork of his Jaguar sports car.

“I went to get in the car to pick up my morning paper at around 5:30am, and I noticed what appeared to be a huge slash mark across the door,” he said.

“There was no sign of anyone or anything nearby, but I was convinced that they had been caused by an animal of some kind.”
Image
 
User avatar
clayj
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 224
Joined: October 2012
Location: Belfast but Newcastle originally

Re: Panthers escape from Drayton Manor !!

Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:47 pm

danr wrote:
Is this actully real or is it an April Fools Joke ?  ;)


Take note of my hard to read text in origional post lol
Image

ɹǝןıɯs ǝɥʇ
 
User avatar
iBacon
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 392
Joined: June 2013
Location: Black Country

Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:45 am

Is Drayton Manor running out of ideas? I understand they have a new ride this year in Thomas Land but before that we have not had a big Thrill Ride in ages...
Image
Thanks to Lewis97 for my Amazing Signature!
 
Benjsh

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:32 pm

How on earth are they running out of ideas?  They have just installed one of the best kiddie areas of any theme park in the UK, in fact the best in my opinion. And they have opened their new hotel. These things don't come cheap you know.

Also.....this is OBVIOUSLY part of a new direction the park are heading into. They simply can't compete in the "thrill stakes" with AT and Thorpe. Not a chance. They don't operate on anthing like the budget that AT do, so they will never be able to compete in that sense. Expecting expensive high thrill rides is fantasy stuff these days for DMP.

They'd be better staying away from the thrill market and continue to focus on the family market and younger kids which has proved successful. With the rumoured Cartoon Network expansion, this further backs up my point. DMP are leaving the high thrills to Merlin and you'd have to say, correctly so.

We're always going to have small kids just like we're always going to have thrillseekers, and let's be honest, AT is really lacking for the younger audience these days. Thorpe is even Worse.
 
User avatar
Don't_Look_Down
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 1337
Joined: May 2010
Location: Stuck at the top of Apocalypse

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:53 pm

iBacon wrote:
Is Drayton Manor running out of ideas? I understand they have a new ride this year in Thomas Land but before that we have not had a big Thrill Ride in ages...


No, and there's a very good reason for that. As much as some of us thrillseekers dislike the idea, Drayton have cornered the family market and are doing very well for themselves. It makes sense from a business point of view to provide your specific customer base with what they want.

Hopefully we will see a new thrill coaster/flat ride in time.
Image
Oblivion beckons in T-minus five minutes, be prepared for embarkation!

Eat, sleep, Apocalypse!
 
User avatar
Wedjie
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 102
Joined: June 2013
Location: Warwickshire

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:15 pm

Drayton have obviously decided to go down the Family route.
So they should sell Apocalypse, Shockwave and Stormforce 10 to Merlin ;) haha
 
User avatar
Alex.D
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 359
Joined: April 2012
Location: Somewhere where you're not!

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:19 pm

Also scrap G-fart... And replace it with a nice big family dark ride. :P
THE SWARM, oblivion,air,colossus.all epic.:D
Image
^Made by Lewis97
 
DeanGaryCox
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 354
Joined: March 2012

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 5:54 pm

well there have been many rumours over the past years about drayton manor wanting to install a woodie and launch coaster, then heard they were keeping an eye on blue fire at europa park, a mack launch coaster... and seen a behind the scenes tour video from some people at drayton manor this year with a worker/manager discussing the plans for next year and that it would be a launch coaster? am i the only one that has heard about this?
Image 2014
 
User avatar
Wedjie
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 102
Joined: June 2013
Location: Warwickshire

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:47 pm

They've been saying for a good 7/8 years that they were going to get a launch coaster. Over the lake, whether it will actually happen or not it an entirely different thing.
 
User avatar
Rollermad
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 423
Joined: March 2012
Location: North London

Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:00 pm

I have a question. Why is the only 1 train!!! It has room for 2 easily, same with shockwave tbh.
Image
 
User avatar
Wedjie
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 102
Joined: June 2013
Location: Warwickshire

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:22 pm

Put this to ride ops a few years ago - G Force only operates 1 train because the ride is too short. If they had two, you would be waiting in the brakes for ages while they were loading the train infront.

Shockwave normally runs 2, unless it is quiet or one is needing maintenance.
 
DeanGaryCox
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 354
Joined: March 2012

Re: Drayton Manor- Out of Ideas?

Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:26 pm

i've never heard rumours about it before... but only recently (like past year or so).
If they are to get a launch coaster (presumably from mack then), i would hope so badly for it to be something along the lines of blue fire at europa park, or at least a nice layout with some inversions, but i can't see it happening and just be a waste of what potentially could be a good ride!
Image 2014
 
User avatar
iBacon
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 392
Joined: June 2013
Location: Black Country

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:59 pm

Shockwave does run with 2 trains normally because it takes along time to boad and adjust etc but I completely agree about G-Force they should have 2 trains at a time!
Image
Thanks to Lewis97 for my Amazing Signature!
 
meames
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 175
Joined: September 2004
Location: South Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:28 pm

It was going to have 2 trains but I believe Drayton ran out of money for the second.
 
User avatar
Wedjie
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 102
Joined: June 2013
Location: Warwickshire

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:09 pm

meames wrote:
It was going to have 2 trains but I believe Drayton ran out of money for the second.

Was only ever intended to run one train :)
 
User avatar
A
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 168
Joined: April 2013
Location: Fugitive motel

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:34 pm

I know g force only runs one train but surely they have a spare?
I'm not completely useless, I can be used as a bad example :P
 
User avatar
Wedjie
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 102
Joined: June 2013
Location: Warwickshire

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:47 pm

A wrote:
I know g force only runs one train but surely they have a spare?

Nope. Any problems with the one train and the whole ride has to close, it is a bit stupid :p
 
jp235
TT Member
TT Member
Posts: 49
Joined: June 2008

Re: Drayton manor - G Force+Shockwave???

Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:43 pm

The park announced at the opening that they intended to have a second train for its second season, but it never happened. The ride really is screaming out for one, the capacity is dire.

If the staff don't think they could load the 2nd train in time, then they're damning themselves! With a proper batching system, and only 12 lap bars to check, loading really needn't take very long at all.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests